Askyfou located at the entrance north of Sfakia from Fountains. Located at an altitude of 730 meters and consists of a set of five small settlements in stone, amoudara the Stravorachi the angle (in and out) and the frame. Wild high mountains around and the peacefulness of the valley, create a lovely winter scene - summer! The plateau looks like a giant bowl, which in ancient Greek called Skyphos - Askyfou and winter dresses in white several times. The traveler of 19ouaionos Robert Pashley, when he visited the area, captivated and wrote that the plateau "surrounded by so imposing mountain peaks that provides the impression of a large amphitheater." It is likely that many thousands of years ago, the plateau Askyfou was a large lake. In the frame is monument honoring heroes Sfakian 1774. Four years after the revolution Daskalogianni and while the province was katestrammenii of tousTourkouss, Sfakians decide to take revenge and escape from the terrible Janissary Ibrahim Alidakis, the largest zooklefti and spoiling properties in Crete. The salient feature of this attack was that decided and executed in equal ground and from outspokenness leventopsyches Sfakianes Women. In a fierce attack on the tower in Emprosnero, overpowered the private army Alidakis and killed him. Here, in 1821 unfolded great battle between the Turks and the Sfakiots, which ended in victory for the locals. Unfortunately two years later, in 1823, Askyfou burned by Hussein Bey. A relic of that era is the small fortress still standing on the hill in the north-east of the plateau. The role of the villagers occasionally leading revolutions, of dekatesserisstratigous Sfakiots who died in 1821, seven were Askyfiotes, and the next great revolution of 1866-69 dropped half the men of the village. The inhabitants are engaged in farming, viticulture, the potato growing and tourism-agritourism. The area farm houses where you can go horse riding, shooting, hunting and mountain biking. Also there are rooms, restaurants, bakeries, dairies, gas station, and laboratory furniture. In Kares is worth visiting a remarkable history museum of the Second World War (1941-1945), which is the effort of the unforgettable George Hadjidakis and worthy of continuing his son Andrew.
West and the beautiful plateau of bulls, is the refuge of the Mountaineering Club of Chania, with beautiful views of the plateau and the White Mountains. Based on the plateau you can discover wonderful trails in the region. Refer to chapter 'Routes'.
Located in the foothills of the Lefka Oroi at an altitude of 780 meters in the homonymous plateau, and the road from Askyfou to Sfakia, Imbros village is a small mountain village of Sfakia with rich history, it still retains its picturesque character. Its name came from refugees who arrived here in 1479 from the island of Imbros, which owes its name to prehellenic Imvrassia (or Imvramo) god who symbolized the fertility of barren land. It consists of the districts Forest, Lepidiana, Nio village and relaxed. Birthplace of many fighters, repeatedly destroyed the years 1770, 1821, 1824 and 1827. The village stood to defend the captains, and Manoussakas Voloudis in 1770 and gave one of the most devastating battles of the revolution Daskalogianni. Value field and debt fell 300 militants while the enemies lost 800 warriors. The inhabitants engaged in farming and tourism. The Imbros is the birthplace of the great benefactor of Sfakia George XENOUDAKI, whose bust is in the area of the old school who now works as ADS. The same building is to be converted by the municipality museum in his honor. From here starts the title very well known and very beautiful canyon, which after about a half hour hike ends at the Libyan Sea in the village Komitades.
The Asfendou is mountainous village at an altitude of 770m and is on the road to Ibro Kallikratis. It was and is the summer residence of the inhabitants of coastal villages speechlessness, Nomikiana and St. Nektarios. The name comes Asfendamou trees in that area. The earliest reference Asfendou detected in the Ottoman period. The village was destroyed by Ottoman troops during the revolution of 1770 and the revolutions of the 19th century. The first census reports the village is 1832. The Asfendou gave heroes to all the liberation struggles of the nation. Residents' main occupation is farming and viticulture. Through the village starts very beautiful and easy gorge, which after about two hours walk ends at the village Agios Nektarios. Also here is the well-known cave Asfendou Skordolakia in place, with the famous rock paintings which date back to the Neolithic era 8.000p.ch. and is the oldest traces of habitation of Crete. Great feast is the Dormition of the Virgin Mary in the church that overlooks high above the village. The landscape is idyllic with great relief. From around the slopes overlooking the Libyan sea is breathtaking. The trip hike or drive will compensate you with a tranquil atmosphere and fresh air!